Adding Warmth in Post for Winter Landscapes

In these particular set of photos, my goal was to capture Barrie in winter and how everything leaves us indifferent to this season change. Everything is dull unless there is some sunlight peaking through the clouds, therefore this is my first attempt of trying to liven up the photo by editing the lighting in the slightest way.

In this shot I chose to bring out the warm colors and brighten it just about 20%.

In this photo, I only lightened the entire photo and left the rest alone.

I warmed the colors and brightened it slightly to draw attention to the framing of the archway.

This is the first shot I made black and white to emphasize the contrast of the snow and water. I also was able to catch this black bird just before he landed.

In this shot I managed to capture another black bird entering this mess of branches and twigs. I really liked how I framed the shot.

I really liked how the snow gave way to a pathway by highlighting each groove and root. I chose to highlight the warm colors and adjust the contrast for this one.

I had to get a shot of my camera bag somehow, so it was nice to have my father carry it for me while I took this photo. No need for editing because of how bright the snow appears in this shot.

He was trying to show me what to capture here, but I decided to capture this frame of the branch in correspondance to where he is pointing. In art history, especially in the reniassance, there is a theory that some artists had their subject point to something to reveal a deeper meaning or hidden object. Take for instance,  in Da Vinci’s Madonna of the Rocks, there is an angel that points to the scene and it draws the viewer’s attention to any action that might be happening. In this photo, my father points up to bring the viewer’s attention to the curvature of the branch and the pathway that we will be walking along later.

In this final shot of the series (no editing or retouching), my father came up with this idea to drop in the snow for an awesome action sequence. This is the result of that.

 

 

 

One thought on “Adding Warmth in Post for Winter Landscapes

Leave a Reply

