A Literal Theme of Books

Day 8: 4. Books

Books are the foundation of all knowledge.

For this topic I decided to select books that either meant a lot to me throughout my lifetime, or books that, for me, hold the foundation for my idea for this topic. I wanted to create a letter “B” with the books by using a bird’s-eye view and taking the photo overhead. I found hardcover books worked best in this layout, and the paperbacks were great if they could lean onto a hardcover book.

I have chosen a book by my favorite poet Pablo Neruda, showcasing its full front cover because I love his poetry, and his works impacted my life in a positive way. Describe things and make your audience feel things is the lesson I learned from his works. Underneath his poetry, there is a book opened which is my favorite outlook on romance where things do not always work out, and this book is called “Paper Towns” by John Green. Dividing the connection of the books seen below is “Stumbling on Happiness” by Daniel Gilbert and I chose this piece because I was always interested in human behavior, and I like knowing why we do the things we do. Next we have the third installment of Harry Potter opened underneath, a classic, and something from my childhood. Then, a recent book I finished reading was Stephen King’s Memoir which taught me a lot about the craft of writing and why he is such an inspiring writer. This leaves four books in this “B” display. These books are informative and support the idea of success by working on yourself with the exception of “Memoirs of a Geisha”. This work is definitely one of my favorites and the dialogue to me is pure poetry.

Besides the fact that “B” stands for “books”, I also believe that the “B” stands for a new beginning. A new beginning to acquire knowledge about the world or a new beginning to start an adventure to see where life takes you. This is what books and reading mean to me.

This topic is completed 4. Books

Leave a Reply

