Day 23: 19. Silhouettes (Mother’s Day Edition)

Happy Mother’s Day!

Today is the day we celebrate mothers everywhere. We show our appreciation for all the hard work and dedication our mothers provide. Mom, mama, momsie, mum, mother are just a few of the many titles we give that significant woman in our lives.  I always believed raising a child and providing constant support so that child can flourish is vital for growth and development. My mama did just that. Each and every day, my mama was there and even today she still provides a solid support system for myself and my family. We can always count on her for advice, to listen to our troubles, and make us feel cared for. One of my favorite memories is when I did the 10 km marathon in 2015. I had no one willing to wake up early to be there for me on a Sunday morning so that I would have someone there at the finish line. After a promise of coffee, my mama was there taking photos and videos of the race. I did not ask her to capture moments, she just knew that I would want those captures as mementos of the marathon even though there were photographers present on race day.

From the Barrie Half Marathon. Thanks for the photo, Click Photography, but who cuts off our feet?

I broke my previous records for 10km runs and made it under 57 minutes. For my age category I did well, I was 6th out of 17 women in the 24-29 category. Overall, I placed 24th out of the 116 women in the race, as well as being 87th out of the 204 people who were also participating in the 10 km marathon. My mama being there meant all the difference and I felt I could really push myself.

As for Mother’s Day, this day is more than a celebration. It is a reminder that women just like my mama, and many others, make a significant impact in our lives. We need to appreciate these women everyday, not just on Mother’s Day. I did some researching and found a fitting quote stated by J.K Rowling:

“Love as powerful as your mother’s for you leaves its own mark … to have been loved so deeply .. will give us some protection forever.”

This quote supports the ideals of today’s topic of silhouette featuring my one and only mama.

This topic is completed: 19. Silhouettes

Leave a Reply

