Day 30: 26. Time (Father’s Day Edition)

Happy Father’s Day!

Today is a day to appreciate our fathers! Being a father figure usually entails having a sense of protection, stability, and support.  My father was larger than life. He seemed like this giant man with a much larger umbrella that provided my brother and I a form of security. The kind of security that would support a notion of always having a home to go to and checking in with us to make sure we were doing alright. This man in my life pushed me to reach higher successes, only because he knew I could. His love for photography was a stepping stone for my path into photography. He noticed I had a creative eye even though I had no prior knowledge or training in composition. My graduation gift was my first DSLR and slowly, but surely my photographic path progressed.

Aside from photography, a family favorite film is Back to the Future. Time and time again, we have watched the trilogy and enjoyed as if we were watching it for the first time. It seemed fitting for the topic of Time, to have an homage to the film and include my father in the scene. The scene where the main character Marty (played by Michael J. Fox) is approached by a minor character who asks for money to save the town’s clock tower is the inspiration behind the setup for the photo.

Lately, Barrie has been under construction and this clock is a new addition. I thought it would be the greatest idea to have the same flyer in the film showcased by my father.

Dr. Emmett Brown: Marty, I’m sorry, but the only power source capable of generating 1.21 gigawatts of electricity is a bolt of lightning.
Marty McFly: [startled] What did you say?
Dr. Emmett Brown: A bolt of lighting. Unfortunately, you never know when or where it’s ever gonna strike.
Marty McFly: We do now.
[hands Doc the “Save the Clock Tower” flyer]

 

This topic is completed: 26. Time

Leave a Reply

