Day 39: 36. Color: Purple

“I never meant to cause you any sorrow
I never meant to cause you any pain
I only wanted to one time to see you laughing
I only wanted to see you
Laughing in the purple rain”

Purple Rain- Prince

When I think of the color of purple, I think about this song. The “Purple Rain”, in the song is a metaphor for the joy one should be basking in. There is more to the song than just what I have showcased here, but I want to focus on the use of purple. When the color of purple is used here, it is used as a symbol for joy even if the color itself is typically seen as a cold color. A color that is usually associated with the dark blues and dark reds of the color spectrum. Historically speaking, purple was seen as a sign of royalty and wealth. There is a sense of luxury embodied in this color, but rarely is it seen as a sign of happiness. The “Purple Rain” in the song seems as though it is something mysterious and private. An exclusive place to showcase warmth and happiness.

When I gathered items with purple elements, I noticed it established a sense of exclusivity. The makeup palette and eyeliner is something only attained exclusively through Sephora. The book by John Stewart was acquired through a Communications course I took in university many years ago, and the Disney animation book was acquired through a liquidation store. All of these items create an illusion of exclusivity in a “Purple Rain” scenario.

This topic is completed: 36. Color: Purple

Leave a Reply

